8 Comments
Feb 22, 2022Liked by Scott Holleran

After reading a great deal on the founding of the greatest, most moral country ever created I came to the conclusion there were 5 men who were most important to its creation - Alexander Hamilton, Ben Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams and George Washington. Indeed, if any one of them had been absent I believe the entire undertaking would have faltered, but if there was one truly indispensable person it was George Washington. He was the only one that all factions of the new country loved and would follow anywhere. And it was his courage and his moral integrity that stood as a beacon to not only his fellow countrymen but to the world. Compare ANY politician since the beginning of the 20th century to this man and you will quickly understand how far we have fallen from our original ideal. Given how much the world has improved since the founding of the United States, there is a case to be made that he is the greatest person in human history!

Expand full comment
author

That’s a great point.

In general, I agree about Washington. The more I learn about him—I’m reading and studying his work in Pittsburgh and Western Pennsylvania during the French and Indian War, when he was shot and almost died in his twenties—the more impressed I am by his exemplary history. I don’t know enough yet and still lean toward Jefferson as the top forefather.

Thank you as always for your commentary, Russell. Can you recommend a few books or sources for me and Autonomia’s reader?

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2022Liked by Scott Holleran

Scott, unfortunately I am not at my home in Colorado where my library would be able to jog my memory. My opinion on this was formed from biographies I read about 20 years ago. From a quick and dirty search of Google and Amazon I've come up with the following list.

John Adams - David McCullough

Alexander Hamilton - Ron Chernow

Founding Father: Rediscovering George Washington - Richard Brookhiser

Thomas Jefferson & the New Nation - Merrill D. Peterson

John Adams and the Spirit of Liberty - C. Bradley Thompson

Washington: The Indispensable Man - James T. Flexner

Washington: A Life - Ron Chernow

Founding Brothers - Joseph J. Ellis

America's Revolutionary Mind: A Moral History of the American Revolution - C. Bradley Thompson (this one is the only one written in the last couple of years.)

I know I have read more biographies on Jefferson and Franklin but simply can't remember which ones off hand. The only really good one on Hamilton is Chernow's, but it is really good and very informative. (From what I've read it is also what inspired the Broadway show.) The best of these books that summarized and confirmed all of my thinking about the Revolutionary generation is C. Bradley Thompson's America's Revolutionary Mind. I consider it the greatest non-Ayn Rand book I've read and in a better world would be required reading in every high school in the land.

I always had held all of these men in high esteem, but probably the most surprising result from my reading on the subject was how my opinion of John Adams improved immensely, probably due to Thompson's book on him. Adams, to me, was the philosophical engine underpinning the whole revolution, even more than Jefferson. The two of them together, though, provided the intellectual and moral arguments that spurred all the other top men of their generation to take the actions they did.

But Washington was still more important, because the northern and southern colonies would have been constantly fighting over the direction of the new country without his steadfast leadership. They fought a lot, anyway, but were always willing to go wherever Washington would lead them. The two presidential elections that took place immediately after Washington's terms in office show just how much division there was in the country.

I hope that helps.

Russ

Expand full comment
author

It’s very helpful, thank you.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2022Liked by Scott Holleran

Hello Scott-You may also enjoy “Revolution Song”, written by Russell Shorto, another W.Penn native who moved back to the area years back to research Washington’s time in the area.

Expand full comment
author

That’s good to know, Marney. Thanks. I’ve got it down. The French and Indian War exhibit at the Heinz History Center in Pittsburgh’s been a real education for me.

Expand full comment

I’m so glad you acknowledged Washington on his birthday, Scott. He was a man of integrity and decency, and deserves our respect. Like every other leader, he was human and he had his faults, but, like Lincoln, he was the perfect man at the right time.

I wrote a bit about him on Inauguration Day last year: https://www.timelesstimely.com/p/a-leaders-call-for-civility-and-decency

Expand full comment
author

Thank you. I agree. I remember reading what you wrote last year. It’s never been more important to write, think and speak up about America’s great founders.

Expand full comment